Return to Contents | Previous >


Core Participants


Nicky Hager

Steven Price (for final submission)


Felix Geiringer (for Public Hearing Module 4)

Jon Stephenson

Davey Salmon

Daniel Nilsson

Sam Humphrey

The New Zealand Defence Force

Paul Radich QC

Lucila van Dam


Dr Scott Sheeran

Afghan Villagers (withdrew in June 2019)

Rodney Harrison QC


Deborah Manning

Richard McLeod

Simon Lamain

Other Participants

Crown Agencies

  • Government Communications Security Bureau
  • New Zealand Security Intelligence Service
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Ministry of Defence

Aaron Martin (Deputy Solicitor-General)

Ian Auld (Crown Counsel)

Paul Rishworth QC (for Public Hearing Module 3)

Dr Penelope Ridings MNZM


Counsel appointed to review classification of material

David Johnstone

Ben Keith

Specialists and Experts

The Inquiry was assisted by, and received advice from, a range of experts and specialists in different fields. These included:

  • Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK, AFC (Ret’d) (former Chief of the Defence Force Australia)
  • Rt Hon Sir Kenneth Keith ONZ KBE QC, Emeritus Professor, former Judge of the International Court of Justice and the Supreme Court of New Zealand
  • Professor Dapo Akande, Professor of Public International Law at the Blavatnik School of Government, Fellow of Exeter College, Oxford
  • Brigadier V G Khan DSC and Bar, AM, military subject matter expert
  • Alison Cole, specialist in open source investigation
  • Elana Geddis, Barrister, specialist in public and international law
  • Maarten Kleintjes MNZM, digital forensic analyst
  • Gordon Muir, specialist in imagery and geospatial analysis
  • David Napier, specialist in aerial imagery and geospatial analysis
  • Natalie Pierce, specialist in international law (detention and torture)
  • Refugees as Survivors New Zealand
  • Rosenstock Legal Services, Afghanistan
  • The Forensic Group Ltd, expertise in metadata analysis.

Counsel Assisting the Inquiry

Kristy McDonald ONZM QC

Andru Isac QC

Assistants to Counsel

Tim Morrison

Asher Emanuel


Anna Wilson-Farrell

Anna Foley

Renee Lyons

Mike Jaspers

Dylan Page

Koria Stevens

Victoria Taylor

Dena Valente

Leah Walls

Return to Contents | Previous >

Last modified: